Subscribe to our newsletter to receive the latest news and events from TWI:

Subscribe >
Skip to content

The Welding Institute celebrates technological achievements

Thu, 12 July, 2018

Over 200 invited guests from industry and academia were present for The Welding Institute’s Annual Dinner, which took place at King’s College, Cambridge on 3 July 2018. President of Council, Steve Dearden and TWI Chief Executive, Dr Christoph Wiesner OBE welcomed the guests on arrival.

Speaker Bill Hewlett, Technical Director of Costain Ltd, gave an insightful picture of the rapid developments in technology based engineering, matching the shifts in his own field against advancements made by TWI and the technical and skills challenges faced by industry in the new age of intelligent infrastructure. He said, ‘I am delighted that TWI is leading in this agenda through its research, teaching and training – and with these awards it is ensuring the talented young are coming into our profession.’

As ever, the evening centred around the awards presentation ceremony which recognised major contributions made by materials scientists and engineers in welding, joining and engineering-related technologies.

Awards and award winners:

The Brooker Award (donated by Johnson Matthey plc) is awarded annually in recognition of the recipient’s personal contribution to the science, technology and industrial exploitation of metal joining. It recognises the high industrial, research or educational responsibility of a character who has beneficially influenced the advancement of metal joining technology.
Awarded to: Professor Isabel Hadley

The Lidstone Young Engineer Award is awarded annually to the person under 40 years of age who is deemed to have made the most significant contribution, not associated with the manufacture and supply of welding consumables and equipment, to the advancement of welding technology during the five-year period preceding the year of the award.
Awarded to: Dr Shiladitya Paul

Larke-Lillicrap Award for Applied Technology is made annually to the individual or team who has had most influence or impact upon the practical application of novel welding or joining knowledge or technology. The subject may be presented in a published academic or research paper but the nomination will be assessed on its practical application value and impact on welding and joining in real-world engineering.
Awarded to: Jonathan Bowers and Alessandro Sardo

Distinguished Service Awards are offered in recognition of outstanding contributions to The Welding Institute on a national basis, as a result of which the position of the Institute has been significantly advanced.
Awarded to: Eur Ing Robert Sawdon

Continuous Learning and Development Award focuses on those who have combined practical workplace skills with traditional learning and educational achievement, reflecting the efforts and personal sacrifices made by an individual in acquiring skills and knowledge.
Awarded to: Eur Ing Mike Skyrme

Richard Dolby - Rolls Royce Award is presented biennially by The Welding Institute’s Younger Members Committee and is sponsored by Rolls-Royce Plc.
Awarded to: Dr Filomeno Martina

Loyal Service Awards
Awarded to: Eric Wallace, Tommy Walker, John Beecroft, John Bell, Will Hanford, Mark Wolstenholme, Bryn Roberts (in absentia), Bob Perry (posthumously)

The Armourers and Brasiers’ Company Awards – supporting education and innovation in metals and materials as well as raising the profile of materials science and metallurgy with a view to engaging young people and promoting the industry.

Best Final-Year PhD Student
Awarded to: Jonathan Riise

Best MSc Student
Awarded to: Mohammad Adnan Ayob (in absentia)

Best BEng Student Award
Awarded to: Matthew Wadge

Best STEM Ambassador
Awarded to: Harry Paine

Awards Panel Special Recognition Award
Awarded to: Dr Philippa Moore

TWI Commendation Award provides recognition for special achievements by a member of TWI staff.
Awarded to: Neil Preece

The Richard Weck Award is an annual award made to the TWI author(s) of the Industrial Members’ Report from the Core Research Programme considered worthiest in the year of issue.
Awarded to: Dr Yanhui Zhang, Dr Tyler London and Dr Damaso De Bono (in absentia)

SkillWeld Winner 2017
Awarded to: Conor Alexander

Construction Metal Work Winner 2017
Awarded to: Michael Grimshaw

The Welding Institute Awards are conferred by the Council of The Welding Institute on an annual basis.

For further information, please contact us.

The Welding Institute Annual Awards 2018
The Welding Institute Annual Awards 2018
The Welding Institute Annual Awards at King's College, Cambridge
The Welding Institute Annual Awards at King's College, Cambridge

For more information please email: