Subscribe to our newsletter to receive the latest news and events from TWI:

Subscribe >
Skip to content

Welding Institute Annual Awards Winner: Henryk Pisarski


Tue, 30 April, 2019

The Welding Institute has led the way in research, innovation, and training for welding and joining technologies since 1923. Each year, the Institute confers awards to highlight outstanding contributions to materials joining and welding technology, celebrate enterprise and acknowledge endeavour.

This year’s awards will take place on 2 July at The Wellcome Sanger Institute in Hinxton near Cambridge.

Among the award winners is Dr Henryk Pisarski, who is to be honoured with the award for Outstanding Personal Contribution (in memory of Harry Brooker) as sponsored by Johnson Matthey. The award is made in recognition of the recipient's personal contribution to the science, technology and industrial exploitation of materials joining. It recognises high industrial research or educational responsibility of a character which has beneficially influenced the advancement of materials joining technology.

Dr Pisarski worked at TWI from 1973 to 2014, as a technologist, a section manager and finally as a Technology Fellow. He has now retired, but continues to work as an independent consultant in the field of integrity management. His work has covered a wide range of topics, including:

  • Understanding the significance of Local Brittle Zones in welds, and developing methods for fracture toughness testing of these areas;
  • Developing techniques for incorporating probabilistic methods into structural integrity assessment;
  • Developing experimental and analytical methods for strain-based assessment of pipeline girth welds;
  • Chairing the materials properties sub-committee of WEE/37, the BSI committee which develops and maintains BS 7910 ‘Guide to methods for assessing the acceptability of flaws in metallic structures’ as well as contributing to the main committee and fracture sub-committee;
  • Developing national and international standards for fracture toughness testing, with a particular emphasis on weldments (BS EN ISO 15653, BS 8571), chairing BSI committee ise/101/4 on fracture toughness testing. UK delegate on IIW Commission X (Structural performance of welded joints - fracture avoidance).

He holds a degree and PhD from the University of Aston and is a Senior Member of the Welding Institute. In 2008 he won the Larke-Lillicrap award for his contribution to strain-based assessment of pipelines.

Henryk’s wide-ranging portfolio encompasses many aspects of integrity management of safety-critical welded structures such as offshore structures, pipelines, bridges and pressure vessels.

He has a deep understanding of the relationship between the presence of flaws in a structure and its subsequent performance, and has brought this knowledge to bear in numerous confidential technical projects carried out on behalf of TWI members.

He has lectured extensively on behalf of both TWI Ltd and The Welding Institute Professional Division and has published over 100 papers and articles on a variety of integrity-related subjects.  He has also represented his industry and his country on numerous standards bodies

He has provided exemplary technical leadership, particularly in the area of codes and standards, and has mentored numerous TWI staff.

A long and tireless record of contribution to the welding profession.

You can find out more about The Welding Institute Annual Awards here.

Dr Henryk Pisarski
Dr Henryk Pisarski

For more information please email: