Subscribe to our newsletter to receive the latest news and events from TWI:

Subscribe >
Skip to content

Welding Institute Awards: Applied Technology Award


Thu, 17 October, 2019

Nominations are now being welcomed for The Welding Institute’s 2020 awards.

Among the awards nominations currently being accepted is the Applied Technology Award, which is conferred each year to the team or individual who has demonstrated the greatest influence or impact upon the practical application of novel welding or joining knowledge or technology.

This award has, since 2009, united the Sir William J. Larke Medal and the Sir Charles Lillicrap Medal.

While subjects may be presented within a published academic or research paper, the nomination is assessed based on the value of its practical application and the subsequent impact on welding and joining in real-world engineering.

Although engineering project applications can be used to support your nomination, the technical content must have been published for the benefit of the welding and joining community.

See here to find out more and submit your nomination for this year’s award.

Last year’s winner, Yan Cui (right) with Chair of Council, Paul Tooms
Last year’s winner, Yan Cui (right) with Chair of Council, Paul Tooms

For more information please email: