Subscribe to our newsletter to receive the latest news and events from TWI:

Subscribe >
Skip to content

The Welding Institute Annual Awards and Dinner 2019


Wed, 03 July, 2019

The Welding Institute’s Annual Awards and TWI Annual Dinner 2019 took place on 2 July at The Wellcome Genome Campus in Hinxton, near Cambridge.

Around 120 guests from industry and academia were present to celebrate outstanding contributions to materials joining and welding technology.

The evening began with the Awards Ceremony and the new Welding Institute President Dave Holmes, outgoing Chairman of Council Paul Tooms and TWI non-executive director Steve Yianni were among those presenting a series of awards in recognition of major contributions made in welding, joining and engineering related technologies:

Outstanding Personal Contribution (in memory of Harry Brooker): Henryk Pisarski (Independent Structural Integrity Consultant)

Award for Enterprise (in memory of Bevan Braithwaite): Philip Wallace (TWI)

Young Engineer’s Award – U40’s (in memory of Leslie Lidstone): Tyler London (TWI) / Tariq A. Al-Ghamdi (Saudi Aramco)

Applied Technology (in memory of Larke-Lillcrap): Yan Cui (GE Power and Water)

Continuous Learning Award: John Whittaker (EDF Energy)

Distinguished Service Award: Ian Hogarth (TWI  Certification)

Honorary Fellowship: Steve Dearden (President Nuclear Submarines Rolls Royce Ltd)

Loyal Service Awards (Branches): Bernard Dawe (Kent) / Eric Martin (London) / Ian Scott (W Midlands) / Carl Ashfield (N. Ireland) / Matt Inglis (Scottish) / David Dargie (Highlands & Islands) / John Brampton (Teesside)

TWI Commendation Award: Carl Forrest (TWI)

Richard Weck Award: Dr Jeroen De Backer (TWI Yorkshire)

Skillweld Trophy 2018: Gold -Jordan Miller (Lakes College)

Construction Metalwork 2018: Gold - Christopher Tonks (Dudley College)

Association for Welding Training and Education Award for Personal Contribution 2019 – Hugh McPhillips (Generic Education Training)

In addition, The Worshipful Company of Armourers and Brasiers presented an award for Outstanding PhD Student for 2018. This award was presented to Dibakor Boruah (Coventry University/NSIRC) by Mike Goulette, the Master of the Armourers and Brasiers Livery Company. The Armourers and Brasiers’ Company supports many charities with its members and their families providing gifts and legacies for this purpose. The Gauntlet Trust was established in 1979 to support education at all levels and research in materials science and technology and the promotion of basic science in schools.

Following the awards, the incoming President of The Welding Institute, Dave Holmes of BAE Systems, gave a speech detailing his background in engineering and the importance of industrial partnerships, before TWI Chief Executive Aamir Khalid thanked the Professional Members of The Welding Institute, Industrial Members and customers, academic partners and business associates.

For more information please email: