Skip to content

The European Federation for Welding, Joining and Cutting (EWF) and International Institute of Welding (IIW) diplomas are widely accepted by employers as high quality vocational education in welding engineering. They confirm a high level of knowledge and expertise that is recognised around the world, supporting the exacting quality requirements for welding coordination across a wide range of applications, materials and processes.

These unique qualifications will place you and your employees above much of the competition, giving your customers high confidence in your organisational understanding of welding.

The EWF/IIW diplomas delivered by TWI are a modular programme, enabling progression in stages through three levels of qualification:

  1. Specialist (IWS) - 6 modules
  2. Technologist (IWT) - 4 modules
  3. Engineer (IWE) - 4 modules

Each module lasts one week and finishes with an exam.


Design and Construction:

Fabrication and Application

Materials and Their Behaviour

Welding Processes and Equipment

TWI Diploma in Welding Engineering

Practical Welding Technology


Career path

Gaining a recognised international diploma in welding engineering will unlock a wide range of career opportunities including welding coordinator, welding technician, quality assurance coordinator or welding supervisor.

 View the career map


What is the EWF/IIW Welding Diploma

For more information please email: