Subscribe to our newsletter to receive the latest news and events from TWI:

Subscribe >
Skip to content

Announcement of The Welding Institute Awards for 2018

Thu, 07 February, 2019

Members of The Welding Institute’s Awards Panel met at the end of January to consider a number of high quality applications and nominations for the Institute’s annual awards. Chaired by Steve Yianni, the Panel considered applications and nominations from around the world noting the range of interests and depth of expertise that underpins our work.

The Welding Institute Awards for 2018 have been made to the following people in recognition of their contribution to the advancement of welding and joining technology and in recognition of their contribution and standing in the welding engineering community.

The Award for Outstanding Personal Contribution, in memory of Harry Brooker, is made in recognition of personal contribution to the science, technology and industrial exploitation of materials joining. The award for 2018 goes to Dr Henryk Pisarski, Fellow of The Welding Institute and retired Technology Fellow of TWI Ltd for his world leading work on integrity management and related subjects.

The Award for Enterprise, in memory of Bevan Braithwaite, is made in recognition of the recipient's enterprise to the benefit of welding and joining. This year the has been given to Philip Wallace  Associate Director for TWI Wales for his leadership and development of TWI Wales which has resulted in TWI Wales becoming a world leading centre for the development of NDT as well as being viewed as a national asset by the Welsh Government, and a key strategic partner by major Members Companies.

The Young Engineer Award, in memory of Leslie Lidstone, recognises significant contributions made to the advancement of welding technology by a person under 40 years of age and is made jointly to Tyler London of TWI Ltd and Tariq A Al-Ghamdi of Saudi- Aramco.

The Applied Technology Award, in memory of Sir William Larke and Charles Lillicrap, is made to Dr Yan Cui Senior Welding Engineer and metallurgist at GE Power and Water for his very effective problem solving ability and innovation which is reflected in his numerous patents and patent applications.

In addition, Honorary Fellowships have been given to Christoph Wiesner, former CEO of The Welding Institute and TWI Ltd and Welding Institute former President, Steven Dearden of Rolls-Royce Submarines.

Members and Branches of the Welding Institute are invited to make nominations each year for the Distinguished Service Award, which is offered in recognition of outstanding contributions to operation, events and activities of The Welding Institute. Ian Hogarth (President of the Teesside Branch) was nominated and awarded the Distinguished Service Award.

The Welding Institute Awards Panel
The Welding Institute Awards Panel

For more information please email: